Rising Above It 9/11

Rain pelted the car as we sped up the West Side Highway north from downtown 9.11Manhattan. I turned to look out out the passenger’s side window and there sat a massive building so close to the road I had to lean forward and crane my neck to see past the first few floors.

This was a huge building, rising up out of the ground, towering over the highway, “probably the new World Trade Center building,” my boyfriend said, as he navigated his way through traffic.

Tears welled up in my eyes, probably a typical reaction whenever any one of us is propelled back to that autumn day. The blue sky. The sound. The horror. The fireballs. The smoke.

Rising above it, I thought to myself.

I wasn’t even aware the central building at the World Trade Center site and 9/11 Memorial was finally going up and here it was — in my face. It was so big, so close to the roadway it looked like it was standing firm with its arms folded as if to say: “Try to move this.”

Rising above it, I thought to myself.

Again, tears. The pain of loss. Children who lost their parents. Brothers who lost sisters. Husbands who lost wives. Wives who lost husbands. And the horror: parents who lost children.

Rising above it, I thought to myself.

Those families had endured the worst. They had to mourn the loss of loved ones ripped from their lives at the World Trade Center towers, at the Pentagon and in that field in Pennsylvania.

Rising above it, I thought to myself.

A floor a week, I read when I returned
home. That was the goal. The Port Authority – in charge of the rebuilding of the World Trade Center complex – was moving on.

Rising above it, I thought to myself.

Growing out of the ground like green shoots that come up after a forest fire, the building personified a kind of life cycle. We are knocked down; we get back up. We don’t forget, but we don’t let it define us.

Rising above it, I thought to myself.

 

This entry was posted in Health Benefits, Media and Nora Ephron and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

