What’s a Favicon and why do I need one?

So the other day I was wondering: What’s the teeny tiny icon to the left of a website address in the address bar and how can I get one?”

It was a question I asked myself before but on this particular day I had five seconds to spare so I decided to investigate.

I contacted the support “team” for my website and typed in my question.

Me: “What’s the teeny tiny icon to the left of the address bar and how do I get one to appear on my websites?”

Support: “That is a website Favicon.”

Me: A what?

Support: “A Favicon.”

Me: “wtf”

Support: “Favicon is short for favorites icon.”

Me: “Ahhhhhh.”

Support: “It’s just a small image that’s associated with a page or website.”

Me: “Hmmmm.”

Support: “In order to add one to your website you must have a favicon.ico file.”

Me: Silence.

Support: “This can be created a couple of different ways. You can use a photo editing application on  your own computer or there are a variety of websites that will help you create a new one or take a preexisting image of yours and make that into a Favicon.”

Me: “What are the benefits of having a Favicon?”

Support: “Makes your website more easily recognized, displays your brand as a sign of trust, brand as a sign of trust, differentiates your website from your competitors, it looks polished and professional.

Favicon – The teeny tiny icon to the left of your url in the address bar.

Is that a noun?

For information on Sheila Carmody, go to http://www.sheilacarmody.com.

Her Favicon will appear in 24 hours.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

